Ice fire: a thriller

Book Cover
Average Rating
Series:
Publisher:
Atria Books,
Pub. Date:
[2012]
Edition:
1st Atria Books hardcover ed.
Language:
English
Description
Perfect for fans of Greg Iles, Ice Fire is the first in a new series starring Jock Boucher--a renegade federal judge who takes justice into his own hands. In this explosive debut thriller, a judge from the Louisiana bayou goes up against a company on the verge of causing an ecological disaster. Cajun-born Jock Boucher has overcome modest beginnings to assume the prestigious position of U.S. District Judge for the Eastern District of Louisiana. One of his first cases on the bench involves a scientist who has been hiding in mortal fear for more than twenty years. The fugitive claims that another judge accepted bribes and helped a relentless global energy company steal his intellectual property: a way to recover energy from below the subsea bed that could end America's dependence on foreign oil. Boucher takes on the company and its powerful founder, risking not only his judicial career but his life. He follows a trail of cryptic clues to the bottom of the ocean, and soon finds himself the target of killers--and too far from the law to ever return. Packed with suspense, science, politics, and murder, this fast-paced, riveting thriller will have readers on the edge of their seats. Ice Fire is the first in a series offered by this authentic new talent.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781451629316
9781451629293
145162929
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:
No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID fd915e08-9797-bf85-a62d-2054961c6918
Grouping Title ice fire a thriller
Grouping Author lyons david
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-11-13 01:38:32AM
Last Indexed 2018-11-18 07:38:56AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Lyons, David, 1956-
author_display Lyons, David
available_at_pineriver Piner River Library
detailed_location_pineriver Pine River Adult Fiction
display_description "A judge from the Louisiana bayou goes up against a company on the verge of causing an ecological disaster. Cajun-born Jock Boucher has overcome modest beginnings to assume the prestigious position of U.S. District Judge for the Eastern District of Louisiana. One of his first cases on the bench involves a scientist who has been hiding in mortal fear for more than twenty years. The fugitive claims that another judge accepted bribes and helped a relentless global energy company steal his intellectual property: a way to recover energy from below the subsea bed that could end America's dependence on foreign oil. Boucher takes on the company and its powerful founder, risking not only his judicial career but his life. He follows a trail of cryptic clues to the bottom of the ocean, and soon finds himself the target of killers--and too far from the law to ever return"--Dust jacket flap.
format_category_pineriver Books
format_pineriver Book
id fd915e08-9797-bf85-a62d-2054961c6918
isbn 145162929, 9781451629293, 9781451629316
item_details ils:.b35512350|.i91462034|Pine River Adult Fiction|F Lyons|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||praf||
itype_pineriver Adult book
last_indexed 2018-11-18T14:38:56.135Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_pineriver F Lyons
owning_library_pineriver Piner River Library
owning_location_pineriver Piner River Library
primary_isbn 9781451629316
publishDate 2012
record_details ils:.b35512350|Book|Books|1st Atria Books hardcover ed.|English|Atria Books,|[2012]|294 pages ; 24 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_pineriver
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b35512350 .i91462034 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true 131, 132, 133, 134, 135
series Jock Boucher novels
series_with_volume Jock Boucher novels|1
subject_facet Energy industries -- Fiction, FICTION / General, FICTION / Political, FICTION / Thrillers, Fiction, Judges -- United States -- Fiction, Louisiana -- Fiction, Political fiction, Thrillers (Fiction)
title_display Ice fire : a thriller
title_full Ice fire : a thriller / David Lyons
title_short Ice fire :
title_sub a thriller
topic_facet Energy industries, FICTION / General, FICTION / Political, FICTION / Thrillers, Judges