The devourers

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Del Rey,
Pub. Date:
2016.
Language:
English
Description
For readers of Neil Gaiman, Margaret Atwood, China Mi#65533;ville, and David Mitchell comes a striking debut novel by a storyteller of keen insight and captivating imagination. LAMBDA LITERARY AWARD WINNER * NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY THE WASHINGTON POST On a cool evening in Kolkata, India, beneath a full moon, as the whirling rhythms of traveling musicians fill the night, college professor Alok encounters a mysterious stranger with a bizarre confession and an extraordinary story. Tantalized by the man's unfinished tale, Alok will do anything to hear its completion. So Alok agrees, at the stranger's behest, to transcribe a collection of battered notebooks, weathered parchments, and once-living skins. From these documents spills the chronicle of a race of people at once more than human yet kin to beasts, ruled by instincts and desires blood-deep and ages-old. The tale features a rough wanderer in seventeenth-century Mughal India who finds himself irrevocably drawn to a defiant woman--and destined to be torn asunder by two clashing worlds. With every passing chapter of beauty and brutality, Alok's interest in the stranger grows and evolves into something darker and more urgent. Shifting dreamlike between present and past with intoxicating language, visceral action, compelling characters, and stark emotion, The Devourers offers a reading experience quite unlike any other novel. Praise for The Devourers "A chilling, gorgeous saga that spans several centuries and many lands . . . The all-too-human characters--including the nonhuman ones--and the dreamlike, recursive plot serve to entrance the reader. . . . There's no escaping The Devourers . Readers will savor every bite." --N. K. Jemisin, The New York Times Book Review " The Devourers is beautiful. It is brutal. It is violent and vicious. . . . [It] also showcases Das's incredible prowess with language and rhythm, and his ability to weave folklore and ancient legend with modern day loneliness." -- Tor.com "A wholly original, primal tale of love, violence, and transformation." --Pierce Brown, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Red Rising Trilogy "Astonishing . . . a narrative that takes possession of you and pulls you along in its wake." --M. R. Carey, author of The Girl with All the Gifts "Every sentence of this ferocious and extraordinary book pulses with life. An absolute masterpiece." --Daniel Jos#65533; Older, author of Half-Resurrection Blues "Das's brutal, intoxicating, and gorgeously visceral debut merges an often mythic sensibility with an appreciation for the coarse beauty of the everyday." -- Publishers Weekly (starred review) "A sensual tale of violence and desire . . . for fans of Anne Rice's Interview with the Vampire but with a fascinating setting beautifully described." -- Library Journal (starred review) "Das's narrative is lush, imaginative, and hypnotic, bringing to life scenes of savagery and moments of wonder. . . . Das's debut is an ambitious, unsettling trip into our own capacity for violence." -- Kirkus Reviews "[An] extraordinary piece of meta-fiction: stories within stories . . . trans-genre, transgender and transgressive . . . Who gets what he or she wants and, above all, who has the moral right to their desires, is the heart of this remarkable, multi-layered novel." -- Maclean's
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781101967515
110196751
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:
No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 8cb4f229-865e-43b5-619d-78961c5ccf13
Grouping Title devourers
Grouping Author das indrapramit
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2019-01-01 01:10:20AM
Last Indexed 2019-02-20 06:15:56AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Das, Indrapramit,
author_display Das, Indrapramit
available_at_pineriver Piner River Library
detailed_location_pineriver Pine River Adult Fiction
display_description "A dreamlike novel about a young historian and a persuasive and beguiling stranger coming together in modern-day Kolkata, India to transcribe an ancient journal. A collection of paper, parchment, and skins, the journal tells of bloodshed, kidnapping, magic and shapeshifting, set against the harsh landscapes of the 17th-Century Mughal Empire. It reveals the story of hunters and prey, lovers and the beloved, and, in the end, the choice to be transformed, or be quarry"--
format_category_pineriver Books
format_pineriver Book
id 8cb4f229-865e-43b5-619d-78961c5ccf13
isbn 110196751, 9781101967515
item_details ils:.b50861979|.i103414241|Pine River Adult Fiction|F Das|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||praf||
itype_pineriver Adult book
last_indexed 2019-02-20T13:15:56.545Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_pineriver F Das
owning_library_pineriver Piner River Library
owning_location_pineriver Piner River Library
primary_isbn 9781101967515
publishDate 2016
record_details ils:.b50861979|Book|Books||English|Del Rey,|2016.|306 pages ; 25 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_pineriver
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b50861979 .i103414241 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true 131, 132, 133, 134, 135
subject_facet College teachers -- Fiction, FICTION / Fantasy / Historical, FICTION / Literary, Fantasy fiction, India -- Fiction, Mogul Empire -- Fiction, Shapeshifting -- Fiction
title_display The devourers
title_full The devourers / Indra Das
title_short The devourers
topic_facet College teachers, FICTION / Fantasy / Historical, FICTION / Literary, Shapeshifting