I am

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Non-Duality Press,
Pub. Date:
[1989, 2007]
Language:
English
Description

In this book Jean Klein once again offers us one of the clearest and most direct expositions of Advaita in our times.

"The root of all desires is the one desire: to come home, to be at peace. There may be a moment in life when our compensatory activities, the accumulation of money, learning and objects, leaves us feeling deeply apathetic. This can motivate us towards the search for our real nature beyond appearances. We may find ourselves asking, 'Why am I here? What is life? Who am I?' Sooner or later any intelligent person asks these questions.

"What you are looking for is what you already are, not what you will become. What you already are is the answer and the source of the question. In this lies its power of transformation. It is a present actual fact. Looking to become something is completely conceptual, merely an idea. The seeker will discover that he is what he seeks and that what he seeks is the source of the inquiry."

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780955176272
9781626257399
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:
No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 563edb93-1606-13b1-253f-2e5f2c9207f0
Grouping Title i am
Grouping Author klein jean
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2019-01-01 01:10:20AM
Last Indexed 2019-03-19 05:21:17AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
auth_author2 Edwards, Emma.
author Klein, Jean, 1912-1998.
author2-role Edwards, Emma., hoopla digital.
author_display Jean Klein
available_at_pineriver Piner River Library
detailed_location_pineriver Pine River Adult Non-Fiction
display_description Klein, master of Advaita Vedanta in the tradition of Ramana Maharshi and Atmananda Krishna Menon, offers one of the clearest and most direct expositions of Advaita and yoga. In this book Jean Klein offers an explanation of Advaita. Told in a question and answer format, Klein includes ideas like: "The root of all desires is the one desire: to come home, to be at peace. There may be a moment in life when our compensatory activities, the accumulation of money, learning and objects, leaves us feeling deeply apathetic. This can motivate us towards the search for our real nature beyond appearances. We may find ourselves asking, 'Why am I here? What is life? Who am I?' Sooner or later any intelligent person asks these questions. What you are looking for is what you already are, not what you will become. What you already are is the answer and the source of the question. In this lies its power of transformation. It is a present actual fact. Looking to become something is completely conceptual, merely an idea. The seeker will discover that he is what he seeks and that what he seeks is the source of the inquiry."
format_category_pineriver Books
format_pineriver Book
id 563edb93-1606-13b1-253f-2e5f2c9207f0
isbn 9780955176272, 9781626257399
item_details hoopla:MWT12223745||Online Hoopla Collection|Online Hoopla|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|Hoopla||https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/12223745||Available Online||||, ils:.b46222558|.i91719185|Pine River Adult Non-Fiction|PHILOSOPHY|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||pran||
itype_pineriver Adult book
last_indexed 2019-03-19T11:21:17.228Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Non Fiction
literary_form_full Non Fiction
local_callnumber_pineriver PHILOSOPHY
owning_library_pineriver Piner River Library
owning_location_pineriver Piner River Library
primary_isbn 9780955176272
publishDate 1989, 2006
record_details hoopla:MWT12223745|eBook|eBook||English|New Harbinger Publications,|2006.|1 online resource, ils:.b46222558|Book|Books||English|Non-Duality Press,|[1989, 2007]|ix, 156 pages ; 22 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_pineriver
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b46222558 .i91719185 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true 131, 132, 133, 134, 135
subject_facet Advaita -- Miscellanea, BODY, MIND & SPIRIT, Eastern, Electronic books, Général, Philosophy, Trivia and miscellanea
title_display I am
title_full I am / Jean Klein ; compiled and edited by Emma Edwards, I am [electronic resource] Jean Klein.
title_short I am
topic_facet Advaita, BODY, MIND & SPIRIT, Eastern, Electronic books, Général, Miscellanea, Philosophy